I’m Tapped

Have you seen the movie” Tapped”?  No, not Taps, the 1981 film starring the hunks of my youth, Tom Cruise, Sean Penn and Timothy Huttton.  Tapped is a documentary detailing all that goes into manufacturing and producing bottled water.  The movie was released in 2009.  I guess I’m a little late to the game because I discovered it last winter on Netflix and finally got around to watching it this past weekend.  The movie quite informative.  They are basically saying bottled water is bad on many levels.  From the chemicals that the bottles leach to the used bottles that end up in our oceans and water supplies.

I should state that I’m not a big bottled water person.  I’m lucky that the water where I live is clean and tastes good.  The only time our family buys bottled water is when we are on vacation.  Those little plastic bottles are just easier to transport, whether we are walking, biking or shopping.  And, we don’t have to worry about losing them.  If a bottle gets misplaced, oh well, we’re out $1.00.  However, if I lose my stainless steel bottle, I’m out over $20.00.  I find things get lost more easily on vacation and if I can have one thing less to worry about, all the better.

My husband has been refilling the above Aquafina water bottle for years.  He only uses it when we go to the movies because he won’t pay $4.00 for a small bottle of water at the theater.  I asked him to sit down and watch “Tapped” with me to get his analytical point of view.   Throughout the movie we kept saying, “What do the producers of the film have to gain if we follow their dogma?”  I’m not sure.  Where I live, tap water is processed by a municipality or a company that is hired by a municipality.  I suppose the municipalities and/or companies could have banned together to make the film.  But why?  Do you think they have seen a huge decline in their income because we are buying bottled water?  I can’t imagine.  Or, is it the stainless steel and glass bottle makers that are funding the movie?  Probably not.  I did some online research and haven’t come up with a thing to dispel what “Tapped” is telling us.  I’m a pretty good Googler.  In fact, I kind of do it for a living.  If you find anything, let me know.

In the meantime, I’m going to try to talk my husband into ditching the old Aquafina bottle in exchange for a new stainless steel one.  Have you given up on bottled water?

Leave a Reply

