Yummy Chicken Salad

My favorite thing to do with left over chicken is to make chicken salad.   It’s a great way to use up those extra parts of the chicken that no one wants to eat.  Though, I’ve been known to throw some breasts on the grill just so I can make chicken salad for lunches.  My chicken salad is savory, sweet with a little bit of crunch.

I start with two cups of shredded chicken.  Room temperature or colder.  You don’t want to use hot chicken.  It can be cooked however you like.  Recently I tried it using barbequed chicken and, oh my!  It was tasty.  I prefer hand shredding the chicken rather than cubing it. The mayonnaise seems to penetrate the shredded chicken better.

Image

Add in 1/4 cup each of diced dried apricots, dried cranberries, slivered almonds and sliced green onions.

Image

Give that a stir to evenly distribute all the parts.  Then add about 2 tablespoons of mayonnaise.  I like my salad to be creamy so, some days, I might add up to 4 tablespoons depending on the type of chicken I’m dealing with.  Chicken breasts need more mayo than legs and thighs.  Or, at least, I think so.

Image

Salt and pepper to taste. If you want to kick up the flavor a notch, you can add some cayenne pepper and/or a couple of shakes of hot sauce.  I like it with a sprinkling of hickory smoked salt.

Image

Refrigerate for at least two hours but overnight is best so that the flavors mingle.  We usually eat this dished up in a bowl. It would be a sin not to make a sandwich with it if you have some soft multi-grain bread laying around.  Enjoy!

Image

One thought on “Yummy Chicken Salad

Leave a Reply

